Performance poetry, and how brave their writers are.

This week in my creative writing workshop we did about performance poetry.
I found it absolutely inspiring, I can’t imagine having the guts to go up onto a stage and spill your secrets, in the form of metaphors, stories and similes, out to a crowd; it must take a very special kind of courage to let yourself be that vulnerable.

We looked a few very different poets, the first was Kate Tempest who is just so amazingly passionate, emotive and strong yet also fragile. Another we looked at was a winner from last years Roundhouse Poetry Slam, Antosh Wojcik, his poem about his invisible friend of insomnia was so beautiful and so painful. All in all it made me really wish I could do something similar but I’m afraid I am just to scared, at the moment anyway, maybe one day I won’t be!

I have however, written (a very brief draft) of a poem inspired by the idea of reading it out loud so…I shall post it asap.

Leave a Reply

